Te Kupenga, the National Network of Family Violence Services is the network or ‘te kupenga’ of independent community-based organisations which have a primary or specialist focus on working with people impacted by family violence (whether as victims, perpetrators or children/young people).

Members of the Network provide specialist family violence services including:

  • Stopping violence programmes and risk management services;
  • Victim/survivor support and safety programmes;
  • Services for children and young people who have witnessed or experienced family violence;
  • Whānau and family support services;
  • Counselling and social work services.

All Network members are committed to the following principles:

  • Ensuring that the safety of women and children is the paramount consideration in all of their work;
  • Working in ways which honour the partnership intended in Te Tiriti O Waitangi;
  • Ensuring that men have a place to stand and take responsibility for their own behaviours and in holding men to account for violent behaviours.

 The National Office of Te Kupenga provides ongoing support and training to its members to ensure that those members are engaging in best practice in family violence prevention and intervention.  It also acts as a link between individuals and local specialist family violence services, providing referral information to members of the public who wish to access a family violence service.

How do I access this service?

Contact us


Monday to Friday:  9am to 5.00pm

or see website for details of member agencies offering family violence support services throughout New Zealand.

Services Provided

Abuse and violence

  • Elder abuse
  • Anger management
  • Counselling
  • Education programmes
  • Family violence intervention
  • Information & support
  • Referral to specialist services
  • Support groups
  • Victim support


Kaupapa Māori


Bay of Plenty, Canterbury, Central Auckland, Central Lakes, Dunedin - South Otago, East Auckland, Hawkes Bay, Hutt, Lakes, MidCentral, Nelson Marlborough, North Auckland, Northland, South Auckland, South Canterbury, Southland, Tairāwhiti, Taranaki, Waikato, Wairarapa, Waitaki, Wellington, West Auckland, West Coast, Whanganui

Contact Details

Postal Address

4 Kennedy Road
Auckland 1081

This page was last updated at 12:48PM on July 20, 2020.